Oscars 2014 Winners | Full Winner List

The winners of the 86th Academy Awards have been announced with 12 Years a Slave taking the top prize for Best Picture.

Gravity was the biggest winner of the night picking up 7 of its 10 nominated awards including Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best Visual Effects, Best Original Score, Best Sound Mixing, Best Sound Editing and Best Director for Alfonso Cuarón.

The Best Actor award went to Matthew McConaughey for his role in Dallas Buyers Club, as did the award for Best Supporting Actor for Jared Leto in the same movie. Best Actress was awarded to Cate Blanchett for Blue Jasmine and Best Supporting Actress went to newcomer Lupita Nyong’o in 12 Years a Slave.

What do you think of the results? Let us know in the comments below.

Best picture
**Winner: 12 Years a Slave**
American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Director
**Winner: Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity**
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Alexander Payne, Nebraska
David O Russell, American Hustle
Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Actor
Christian Bale, American Hustle
Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
**Winner: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club**

Best Actress
Amy Adams, American Hustle
**Winner: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine**
Sandra Bullock, Gravity
Judi Dench, Philomena
Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

Best Supporting Actor
Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
Bradley Cooper, American Hustle
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street
**Winner: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club**

Best Supporting Actress
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
**Winner: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave**
Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
June Squibb, Nebraska

Best Adapted Screenplay
**Winner: 12 Years a Slave, John Ridley**
Before Midnight, Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke
Captain Phillips, Billy Ray
Philomena, Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope
The Wolf of Wall Street, Terence Winter

Best Original Screenplay
American Hustle, Eric Warren Singer, David O. Russell
Blue Jasmine, Woody Allen
Dallas Buyers Club, Craig Borten, Melisa Wallack
**Winner: Her, Spike Jonze**
Nebraska, Bob Nelson

Best Animated Feature
The Croods, Chris Sanders, Kristine Belson
Despicable Me 2, Pierre Coffin, Chris Renaud, Chris Meledandri
Ernest and Celestine, Benjamin Renner, Didier Brunner
**Winner: Frozen, Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee, Peter Del Vecho**
The Wind Rises, Hayao Miyazaki, Toshio Suzuki

Best Animated Short
Feral, Daniel Sousa
Get a Horse!, Lauren MacMullan
**Winner: Mr Hublot, Laurent Witz**
Possessions, Shuhei Morita
Room on the Broom, Max Lang, Jan Lachauer

Best Cinematography
The Grandmaster, Philippe Le Sourd
**Winner: Gravity, Emmanuel Lubezki**
Inside Llewyn Davis, Bruno Delbonnel
Nebraska, Phedon Papamichael
Prisoners, Roger Deakins

Best Costume Design
12 Years a Slave, Patricia Norris
American Hustle, Michael Wilkinson
The Grandmaster, William Chang Suk Ping
**Winner: The Great Gatsby, Catherine Martin**
The Invisible Woman, Michael O’Connor

Best Documentary Feature
**Winner: 20 Feet from Stardom, Morgan Neville**
The Act of Killing, Joshua Oppenheimer, Signe Byrge Sørensen
Cutie and the Boxer, Zachary Heinzerling and Lydia Dean Pilcher
Dirty Wars, Richard Rowley and Jeremy Scahill
The Square, Jehane Noujaim and Karim Amer

Best Documentary Short
Cavedigger, Jeffrey Karoff
Facing Fear, Jason Cohen
Karama Has No Walls, Sara Ishaq
**Winner: The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life, Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed**
Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall, Edgar Barens

Best Editing
12 Years a Slave, Joe Walker
American Hustle, Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers, Alan Baumgarten
Captain Phillips, Christopher Rouse
Dallas Buyers Club, John Mac McMurphy, Martin Pensa
**Winner: Gravity, Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger**

Best Foreign Language Film
The Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium), Felix Van Groeningen
**Winner: The Great Beauty (Italy), Paolo Sorrentino**
The Hunt (Denmark), Thomas Vinterberg
The Missing Picture (Cambodia), Rithy Panh
Omar (Palestine), Hany Abu-Assad

Best Live Action Short
Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me), Esteban Crespo
Avant Que de Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything), Xavier Legrand
**Winner: Helium, Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson**
Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?), Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari
The Voorman Problem, Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
**Winner: Dallas Buyers Club, Adruitha Lee, Robin Mathews**
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa, Stephen Prouty
The Lone Ranger, Joel Harlow, Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Best Original Score
John Williams, The Book Thief
**Winner: Steven Price, Gravity**
William Butler and Owen Pallett, Her
Alexandre Desplat, Philomena
Thomas Newman, Saving Mr Banks

Best Production Design
12 Years a Slave, Adam Stockhausen, Alice Baker
American Hustle, Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler
Gravity, Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin, Joanne Woodlard
**Winner: The Great Gatsby, Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn**
Her, K. K. Barrett, Gene Serdena

Best Original Song
‘Happy’, Despicable Me 2, Pharrell Williams
**Winner: ‘Let It Go’, Frozen, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez**
‘The Moon Song’, Her, Karen Orzolek, Spike Jonze
‘Ordinary Love’, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, U2

Best Sound Editing
All is Lost, Steve Boeddeker, Richard Hymns
Captain Phillips, Oliver Tarney
**Winner: Gravity, Glenn Freemantle**
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Brent Burge
Lone Survivor, Wylie Stateman

Best Sound Mixing
Captain Phillips, Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro
**Winner: Gravity, Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, Chris Munro**
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick, Tony Johnson
Inside Llewyn Davis, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff, Peter F. Kurland
Lone Survivor, Andy Koyama, Beau Borders, David Brownlow

Best Visual Effects
**Winner: Gravity, Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, Neil Corbould**
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, Eric Reynolds
Iron Man 3, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash. Dan Sudick
The Lone Ranger, Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams, John Frazier
Star Trek Into Darkness, Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann, Burt Dalton


  1. […] Click here for the full Oscars 2014 winners list. […]